About us

Our Story and Statement of Intent

Blaby Electrical was founded in August 1986, within the same week that the owner; Tony Smith got married and sold his home in Blaby to help finance the business. Tony is still the Managing Director, and still married to his wife. The company ethos when established was, and still is 33 years on: ‘Service and Quality’. If we can achieve this, whilst being competitive pricewise, then our standards will achieve great customer satisfaction.

Our office is now based in Wigston Leicester as the company has grown and branched out in 1998 to include the Security Industry; installing Domestic/Commercial and Police Monitored Intruder Alarm Systems, CCTV, Door Access Controls, and Fire Alarm Systems. This makes Blaby Electrical the number one company to call on when you want the full installation package.

We still carry out small works, but have expanded to include installs incorporating all the above package to £1million+ contracts across the Midlands and beyond.

Blaby Electrical’s client base is quite impressive with customers such as Cemex based in Rugby, where we have been the on-site resident electrical contractor for many years carrying out installation works, as well as further Cemex sites across the UK since 2008.

It is the MDs intention to continue growing the company, invest in his workforce and continue to offer ‘Service and Quality’ to Blaby Electrical’s existing and new customers.

Blaby Electrical Ltd Inc. Blaby Alarms Guarantee

All Blaby Electrical Ltd Inc. Blaby Alarms installations are undertaken by experienced, professional teams and include a 12 month installation guarantee for your complete peace of mind. This covers any fine tuning of the system and installation faults. Fully certified installations. 

Blaby Alarms are an NIC EIC approved contractor and an SSAIB ‘certificate of excellence holder’. Intruder alarm installations are completed with full, dual certification.

Employee of the Month

Employee of the Month for August 2019: Craig Richards

Craig has completed our first big job for a new customer who said they were very happy with his workmanship and how the job ran.

Craig has also been mentioned in a recent company review, along with other employees, for being professional, polite and for his hard work. And has completed several jobs recently ahead of schedule. 

Thank You and Well Done Craig

Employee of the Month for July 2019: Rhys Williams

Rhys is currently one of our apprentices, working along side fellow employees for his training. He has presented an eagerness to learn; observing and making suggestions for alternative ways to complete the work, which shows great initiative and team work.

Rhys has great interpersonal skills that will take him far.

Thank You and Well Done Rhys

Previous winners


June: Donna Theobold

May: Bevan McCaffrey

April: Callum Mann

March: Craig Richards

February: Ben Taylor

January: Ian Lowry


December: Lenny Smith

November: Stuart Capel

October: Donna Theobold

September: Bevan McCaffrey

August: Jacob Robinson

July: Craig Richards

June: Matt Hall

May: Sam Robinson

April: Lenny Smith

March: Stuart Capel

February: Jacob Robinson

January: Greg Clarke


December: Marc Bentley

November: Lenny Smith

October: Ben Taylor

September: Elliot Smith

August: Craig Richards

July: Joanne Bodycote

June: Donna Theobold

May: Ian Lowry

April: Stuart Capel

March: Lenny Smith

February: Jacob Robinson

January: Stuart Capel


December: Steve Padmore

November: Matt Hall

October: Ian Lowry

September: Paul Lay

August: Ben Taylor

July: Steve Padmore

June: Elliot Smith

May: James Stevens

April: Dan Thorpe

March: Ben Taylor

February: Paul Lay

January: Tom Knott


December:Jacob Robinson

November: Ian Lowry

October: Elliot Smith

September: Lenny Smith & Marc Bentley

August: Elliot Smith

July: Marc Bentley

June: Ben Taylor

May: Paul Lay

April: Tom Knott

March: Dan Thorpe & Elliot Smith & Craig Trapps

February: Tom Knott

January: Ian Lowry


December: Dan Thorpe

November: Marc Bentley

October: Rollover

September: Craig Trapps

August: Ben Taylor

July: Marc Bentley

June: Elliot Smith & Sam Allen & Craig Trapps

May: Elliot Smith

April: Sam Allen

March: Dan Thorpe

February: Craig Trapps

January: Ian Lowry